A Much Needed Update More Than a Year Too Late

Where have I been you ask? I’m absolutely terrible about keeping up with my blogs and journals, always have been and always will be. You will have this entry and I might bring myself to write a handful more; thereafter I may disappear into the abyss again for some unknown amount of time.

In case you have missed out, here are the highlights of the last year and a half of my life. Up to the point I had stopped writing, I was in the middle of my first year as an English teaching assistant. I applied to extend for a second year, was accepted and returned to Mistelbach, the same town I had been in, for a second year. I spent the summer in the US with my family as my base camp, went to Disney World to see one of my best friends, went on a road trip to New Orleans with another best friend and eventually went back to Austria.

I spent my second year much as my first, teaching the same kinds of lessons and having the same interesting interactions with students. As before, the work load was light and I had a lot of free time, a lot of which I spent in Vienna. I made more friends in Vienna and spent more time with English teaching assistants. Overall it was a really fantastic year! After my second and final year as a teaching assistant came to a close, I flew back to the US to spend the summer with my family. That’s where I am now.

In the last two years I have grown really happy in Austria and really fell in love with Vienna. I decided to apply to a master’s degree program in international relations at the branch campus of an American university, Webster University, in Vienna. I was accepted, will receive the massive amount of loans I need to pay for tuition and living expenses, and already have my flight back booked and a room in a shared apartment to live in. I’ll fly back to Austria in just five short weeks.

I think that should suffice for a general update. I have a lot of free time in the next few weeks and hope to write some entries about my experiences in Austria, maybe one entry about the things I love and another about the things I do not love so much. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

